August 30, 2020 Texas LTC class at ETTS range. Etts member rate and non-ETTS member rate as well as handgun rental with ammo in the drop down menu below.
Steps to Obtaining Your Texas License to Carry (LTC)
1. Are you eligible? Click the button below
2. Fill out TX DPS online application. The application does not have to be completed before class.
3. Schedule and complete your fingerprinting. Does not have to be completed prior to class. Cost $10.
4. Schedule a class. You can complete the application and fingerprints after class. No paperwork needed for class.
5. Class Fee is $103.00 via paypal ONLY and advanced registration is required,
TX DPS Processing Fee
$40.00 for initial license (valid for 5 years). Renewal $40.00
$40.00 for Seniors (60 and over). Renewal $35.00
$25.00 for Veterans (Honorably Discharged). renewal $25.00
$0.00 for active Duty Military
6. After you complete the class save your CHL100 (which you will receive in class) to your computer as a PDF.
7.To upload you CHL100 to TX DPS
Under 'Select Program' - select 'Handgun Licensing'
Under 'Select Option" - select 'Submit LTC Supporting Documents'
Fill in all the applicable fields on the next screen; name, email, etc.
Scroll down, click 'Browse' and select the filename you saved your CHL100 under.
Click 'Attach' before you submit. Don't forget to click 'Attach'.
The Texas Department of Public Safety (TXDPS) mandates that the classroom portion be 4 to 6 hours in length.
In addition, applicants must successfully complete a 25 question multiple choice test and a 50 round handgun qualification course.
Laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force.
Handgun use and safety, use of restraint holsters, secure carrying of openly carried handguns.
Non-violent dispute resolution.
Proper storage practices for handguns.
What to Bring to Class:
A handgun and at least 50 rounds of ammunition for your handgun.
As many magazines as you have available for your weapon.
Shooters may qualify with a revolver or semi-automatic handgun. Weapon must be at least .22 caliber.
Please wear closed toe shoes to the range.
Hearing and eye protection (sunglasses or prescription glasses are fine).
Pen or pencil for note taking.
Your state issued ID or Drivers License.
Bring something to eat or snack on. Class runs straight through so that we can finish as soon as possible.
Handgun Qualification Course
From the 3 yard line
1 shot in 2 seconds (5 times)
2 shots in 3 seconds (5 times)
5 shots fired in 10 seconds
From the 7 yard line
5 shots in 10 seconds
2 shots in 4 seconds
3 shots in 6 seconds
1 shot in 3 seconds (5 times)
5 shots in 15 seconds
From the 15 yard line
2 shots in 6 seconds
3 shots in 9 seconds
5 shots in 15 seconds
All shots are worth up to 5 points for a maximum score of 250. A score of 175 is required to pass.